perl/modules/indirect.git
6 years agoThis is 0.35 v0.35
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 22:20:22 +0000 (19:20 -0300)]
This is 0.35

6 years agoNo tabs please
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 21:57:18 +0000 (18:57 -0300)]
No tabs please

6 years agoManually release MY_CXT.global_code at interpreter teardown time
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 19:57:53 +0000 (16:57 -0300)]
Manually release MY_CXT.global_code at interpreter teardown time

6 years agoTurn indirect_loaded into a signed integer
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 19:53:16 +0000 (16:53 -0300)]
Turn indirect_loaded into a signed integer

And add some related asserts, just in case.

6 years agoRename I_CHECK_MUTEX_* to I_CHECK_*
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 19:51:36 +0000 (16:51 -0300)]
Rename I_CHECK_MUTEX_* to I_CHECK_*

6 years agoMake sure we don't take the OP_REFCNT mutex twice on perl 5.9.2 and below
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 19:50:50 +0000 (16:50 -0300)]
Make sure we don't take the OP_REFCNT mutex twice on perl 5.9.2 and below

6 years agoTest asymetrical thread termination
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 18:46:40 +0000 (15:46 -0300)]
Test asymetrical thread termination

6 years agoReference-count global setup/teardown
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 18:45:46 +0000 (15:45 -0300)]
Reference-count global setup/teardown

This fixes surprises like this one : module loaded in thread 1, then in
thread 2, then thread 1 ends and now the module does not work anymore in
thread 2 (even though it should).

6 years agoHandle undef properly for failure diagnostics in t/09-load-threads.t
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 17:11:10 +0000 (14:11 -0300)]
Handle undef properly for failure diagnostics in t/09-load-threads.t

6 years agoMake sure the module is loaded in the first thread first
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 16:30:10 +0000 (13:30 -0300)]
Make sure the module is loaded in the first thread first

6 years agoImprove diagnostics in t/09-load-threads.t in case of failure
Vincent Pit [Mon, 6 Apr 2015 15:47:40 +0000 (12:47 -0300)]
Improve diagnostics in t/09-load-threads.t in case of failure

6 years agoThis is 0.34 v0.34
Vincent Pit [Thu, 2 Apr 2015 19:50:16 +0000 (16:50 -0300)]
This is 0.34

6 years agoAlso point to tomc's FMTEYEWTK post in POD rt100068
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 20:38:48 +0000 (17:38 -0300)]
Also point to tomc's FMTEYEWTK post in POD

This fixes RT #100068.

6 years agoImprove scheduling for the parallel loading test
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 20:06:12 +0000 (17:06 -0300)]
Improve scheduling for the parallel loading test

6 years agoKeep track of which thread-local contexts have been initialized
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 19:15:40 +0000 (16:15 -0300)]
Keep track of which thread-local contexts have been initialized

If you have two threads that are run in parallel, and the the module is
first loaded in one and then in the other, then our check functions might
be called in the second thread before the module's boot function is
executed. This is bad because the boot function is needed to initialize the
thread-local context, and this context is needed by the check functions.

To fix this, we keep track of which contexts were initialized thanks to a
refcounted pointer table.

6 years agoMake sure MULTIPLICITY builds set PERL_IMPLICIT_CONTEXT
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 19:08:50 +0000 (16:08 -0300)]
Make sure MULTIPLICITY builds set PERL_IMPLICIT_CONTEXT

6 years agoAdd a couple of missing volatile qualifiers
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 17:25:53 +0000 (14:25 -0300)]
Add a couple of missing volatile qualifiers

6 years agoAdd POSIX to build requires
Vincent Pit [Tue, 31 Mar 2015 12:35:47 +0000 (09:35 -0300)]
Add POSIX to build requires

6 years agoUpdate the ActivePerl/gcc-3.4 hack for EUMM 7.04
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 19:54:30 +0000 (16:54 -0300)]
Update the ActivePerl/gcc-3.4 hack for EUMM 7.04

Starting from this version, PERL_ARCHIVE is quoted so we can no longer set
it to the empty string. Instead, we remove all occurrences of PERL_ARCHIVE
in the linking step section of the Makefile, which is OK since we specify
the perl DLL in other variables. This new technique is still valid for
older versions of EUMM.

6 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:35:40 +0000 (12:35 -0300)]
Bump copyright year

6 years agoThoroughly test module loading in threads
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:35:21 +0000 (12:35 -0300)]
Thoroughly test module loading in threads

6 years agoRevamp the setup boot logic
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:34:23 +0000 (12:34 -0300)]
Revamp the setup boot logic

This will solve crashes when the module is loaded simultaneously in
different threads.

6 years agoReplace STATIC by static
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:24:57 +0000 (12:24 -0300)]
Replace STATIC by static

6 years agoProtect run_perl() tests against old relocated perls
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:23:04 +0000 (12:23 -0300)]
Protect run_perl() tests against old relocated perls

6 years agoPort threads tests to the new VPIT::TestHelpers interface
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:13:15 +0000 (12:13 -0300)]
Port threads tests to the new VPIT::TestHelpers interface

The new 'force threads test' environment variable is
PERL_FORCE_TEST_THREADS.

6 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to 4eeb5afc
Vincent Pit [Tue, 24 Mar 2015 15:07:54 +0000 (12:07 -0300)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to 4eeb5afc

6 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to 3c878c7c
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Mar 2015 14:03:57 +0000 (11:03 -0300)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to 3c878c7c

6 years agoReally be compatible with the OP_PARENT feature
Vincent Pit [Fri, 6 Feb 2015 13:38:38 +0000 (14:38 +0100)]
Really be compatible with the OP_PARENT feature

OP_SIBLING() has been renamed to OpSIBLING() in perl 5.21.7.

7 years agoThis is 0.33 v0.33
Vincent Pit [Mon, 29 Sep 2014 20:29:19 +0000 (22:29 +0200)]
This is 0.33

7 years agoDo nothing after that the thread local storage has been freed
Vincent Pit [Mon, 29 Sep 2014 20:02:18 +0000 (22:02 +0200)]
Do nothing after that the thread local storage has been freed

This de facto disables the pragma for code eval'd during global
destruction of a thread or a pseudo-fork.

7 years agoUse the new CLONE_PARAMS API with perl 5.13.2
Vincent Pit [Mon, 29 Sep 2014 16:30:41 +0000 (18:30 +0200)]
Use the new CLONE_PARAMS API with perl 5.13.2

7 years agoNullify thread local storage entries when they are freed
Vincent Pit [Mon, 29 Sep 2014 15:19:14 +0000 (17:19 +0200)]
Nullify thread local storage entries when they are freed

This makes possible problems easier to reproduce.

7 years agoDon't cleanup thread local storage before END blocks are executed rt99083
Vincent Pit [Mon, 29 Sep 2014 14:13:13 +0000 (16:13 +0200)]
Don't cleanup thread local storage before END blocks are executed

reap.h is no longer necessary.

This fixes RT #99083.

7 years agoThis is 0.32 v0.32
Vincent Pit [Sun, 21 Sep 2014 20:15:52 +0000 (22:15 +0200)]
This is 0.32

7 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Sun, 21 Sep 2014 20:00:49 +0000 (22:00 +0200)]
Bump copyright year

7 years agoDon't segfault for indirect constructs inside the empty package
Vincent Pit [Sun, 21 Sep 2014 19:44:42 +0000 (21:44 +0200)]
Don't segfault for indirect constructs inside the empty package

The empty package was an old feature that was removed in perl 5.10.

7 years agoAdd support for PERL_OP_PARENT
Vincent Pit [Sun, 21 Sep 2014 19:04:31 +0000 (21:04 +0200)]
Add support for PERL_OP_PARENT

This was introduced in perl 5.21.2.

7 years agoUse run_perl() from VPIT::TestHelpers rt92806
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Sep 2014 13:04:38 +0000 (15:04 +0200)]
Use run_perl() from VPIT::TestHelpers

This updates VPIT::TestHelpers to 4fb18792.

7 years agoSilence a sign-compare warning
Vincent Pit [Tue, 19 Aug 2014 00:08:44 +0000 (02:08 +0200)]
Silence a sign-compare warning

8 years agoThis is 0.31 v0.31
Vincent Pit [Thu, 5 Sep 2013 16:45:02 +0000 (18:45 +0200)]
This is 0.31

8 years agoAdd some tests for 'new { __PACKAGE__ }'
Vincent Pit [Thu, 5 Sep 2013 14:12:11 +0000 (16:12 +0200)]
Add some tests for 'new { __PACKAGE__ }'

8 years agoRemove profanity
Vincent Pit [Thu, 5 Sep 2013 11:55:38 +0000 (13:55 +0200)]
Remove profanity

We're professionals (or something).

8 years agoHandle __PACKAGE__ as object name correctly rt88428
Vincent Pit [Thu, 5 Sep 2013 11:02:10 +0000 (13:02 +0200)]
Handle __PACKAGE__ as object name correctly

__PACKAGE__ cannot appear as the object name for indirect calls, but it
can for direct ones. This could cause wrong reports of indirect calls
when the actual package name appeared later in the source, for instance
in a comment. This is fixed by looking for '__PACKAGE__' in the source
buffer when we already have a hit for the current package name, and by
keeping the first one of those two.

This fixes RT #88428.

8 years agoUpdate bundled Test::Leaner to 0.05
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 19:26:30 +0000 (16:26 -0300)]
Update bundled Test::Leaner to 0.05

8 years agoMake Perl version numbers more readable
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 18:23:43 +0000 (15:23 -0300)]
Make Perl version numbers more readable

8 years agoRemove obsolete kwalitee workarounds
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 16:41:41 +0000 (13:41 -0300)]
Remove obsolete kwalitee workarounds

8 years agoNo tabs please
Vincent Pit [Fri, 23 Aug 2013 19:39:07 +0000 (16:39 -0300)]
No tabs please

8 years agoStop bundling author tests
Vincent Pit [Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:17:58 +0000 (18:17 -0300)]
Stop bundling author tests

8 years agoGet rid of t/99-kwalitee.t
Vincent Pit [Tue, 6 Aug 2013 03:28:58 +0000 (00:28 -0300)]
Get rid of t/99-kwalitee.t

New versions started to throw warnings if specific environment variables
are not set. This may be appropriate for dist manager users, but not really
for the rest of the world.

Since kwalitee metrics are either obvious or useless, there's no big loss
in removing this test anyway.

8 years agoThis is 0.30 v0.30
Vincent Pit [Thu, 16 May 2013 15:57:49 +0000 (17:57 +0200)]
This is 0.30

8 years agoUpdate the bug tracker URL in META after the rt.perl.org upgrade rt84649
Vincent Pit [Thu, 16 May 2013 15:41:07 +0000 (17:41 +0200)]
Update the bug tracker URL in META after the rt.perl.org upgrade

This fixes RT #84649.

8 years agoPartially revert 502e3aac. rt83806 rt83839
Andrew Main [Thu, 16 May 2013 15:11:41 +0000 (17:11 +0200)]
Partially revert 502e3aac.

Vincent: This fixes things, but I don't know why.

This fixes RT #83806 and RT #83839.

8 years agoThis is 0.29 v0.29
Vincent Pit [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 01:30:05 +0000 (22:30 -0300)]
This is 0.29

8 years agoIn string-like envs, take the position to the beginning of the string rt83659
Vincent Pit [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 01:06:04 +0000 (22:06 -0300)]
In string-like envs, take the position to the beginning of the string

This fixes RT #83659.

8 years agoForce linking against the perl dll when using gcc 3.4 on Windows
Vincent Pit [Tue, 5 Mar 2013 00:12:52 +0000 (21:12 -0300)]
Force linking against the perl dll when using gcc 3.4 on Windows

When a Windows perl links an XS shared object to an import library using
gcc/g++ version 3.4.x, strange breakage happens at load time because the
mutex-related symbols seems not to be reachable. This situation happens
especially for AS perl and the default compiler suite it installs.

We fix this by forcing g++ to link against the dll instead, which should
be in the same directory as the perl executable (at least for AS perl).

8 years agoThis is 0.28 v0.28
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 17:05:22 +0000 (14:05 -0300)]
This is 0.28

8 years agoReplace check functions in a thread-safe way
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 16:35:11 +0000 (13:35 -0300)]
Replace check functions in a thread-safe way

8 years agoMake indirect_find() more resilient to embedded nuls
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 14:42:39 +0000 (11:42 -0300)]
Make indirect_find() more resilient to embedded nuls

8 years agoClarify what indirect_find() does by renaming some variables
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 14:31:20 +0000 (11:31 -0300)]
Clarify what indirect_find() does by renaming some variables

8 years agoProperly set and check the line number of method and object tokens rt83450
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 00:16:15 +0000 (21:16 -0300)]
Properly set and check the line number of method and object tokens

This fixes RT #83450.

8 years agoSilence an "unused result" compiler warning
Vincent Pit [Tue, 26 Feb 2013 00:03:19 +0000 (21:03 -0300)]
Silence an "unused result" compiler warning

8 years agoThis is 0.27 v0.27
Vincent Pit [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 18:57:44 +0000 (16:57 -0200)]
This is 0.27

8 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 18:44:35 +0000 (16:44 -0200)]
Bump copyright year

8 years agoMake indirect play nice with Devel::CallParser rt82562
Andrew Main [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 17:52:09 +0000 (15:52 -0200)]
Make indirect play nice with Devel::CallParser

8 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to e8344578
Vincent Pit [Wed, 30 Jan 2013 16:23:31 +0000 (14:23 -0200)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to e8344578

8 years agoPort module loading in tests to VPIT::TestHelpers
Vincent Pit [Fri, 2 Nov 2012 13:12:18 +0000 (11:12 -0200)]
Port module loading in tests to VPIT::TestHelpers

8 years agoAdd BUILD_REQUIRES to WriteMakefile()
Vincent Pit [Fri, 2 Nov 2012 13:06:39 +0000 (11:06 -0200)]
Add BUILD_REQUIRES to WriteMakefile()

8 years agoQuote version numbers in Makefile.PL
Vincent Pit [Fri, 2 Nov 2012 13:04:49 +0000 (11:04 -0200)]
Quote version numbers in Makefile.PL

8 years agoKill Debian_CPANTS.txt suffixes as well
Vincent Pit [Fri, 2 Nov 2012 13:03:07 +0000 (11:03 -0200)]
Kill Debian_CPANTS.txt suffixes as well

8 years agoUpdate author tests, and add a POD spelling test
Vincent Pit [Fri, 2 Nov 2012 13:02:07 +0000 (11:02 -0200)]
Update author tests, and add a POD spelling test

Also make sure that the kwalitee test unlinks its byproducts.

9 years agoRequire Module::ExtractUse 0.24 for the Kwalitee test
Vincent Pit [Sun, 19 Feb 2012 13:09:03 +0000 (14:09 +0100)]
Require Module::ExtractUse 0.24 for the Kwalitee test

9 years agot/40-threads.t should always run at least one test
Vincent Pit [Fri, 11 Nov 2011 18:38:48 +0000 (19:38 +0100)]
t/40-threads.t should always run at least one test

No test means failure.

9 years agoMake sure the POD headings are linkable
Vincent Pit [Fri, 11 Nov 2011 18:08:09 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
Make sure the POD headings are linkable

9 years agoReorder the members of the indirect_op_info struct a bit
Vincent Pit [Fri, 11 Nov 2011 18:00:43 +0000 (19:00 +0100)]
Reorder the members of the indirect_op_info struct a bit

10 years agoThis is 0.26 v0.26
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 14:22:50 +0000 (16:22 +0200)]
This is 0.26

10 years agoPreserve the PATH environment variable when running a sub-perl on cygwin
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 14:04:51 +0000 (16:04 +0200)]
Preserve the PATH environment variable when running a sub-perl on cygwin

10 years agoRevert "Try to prevent t/50-external.t from crashing on Cygwin"
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 13:59:00 +0000 (15:59 +0200)]
Revert "Try to prevent t/50-external.t from crashing on Cygwin"

This reverts commit da77956a4d2f4fbfc4d6c4c2ed78063e5654ac5b.

10 years agoTest "no indirect 'global'" with threads
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 10:47:47 +0000 (12:47 +0200)]
Test "no indirect 'global'" with threads

10 years agoPort t/46-stress.t to Test::Leaner
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 10:16:56 +0000 (12:16 +0200)]
Port t/46-stress.t to Test::Leaner

This makes the test suite about 25% faster for a threaded perl.

10 years agoPort threads test to Test::Leaner and move boilerplate to an helper module
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 10:14:20 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
Port threads test to Test::Leaner and move boilerplate to an helper module

Test::Leaner 0.04 is bundled.

10 years agoForbid passing 'hook' and 'fatal' at the same time
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 09:49:47 +0000 (11:49 +0200)]
Forbid passing 'hook' and 'fatal' at the same time

Carp is required.

10 years agoFreshen the documentation
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 00:29:22 +0000 (02:29 +0200)]
Freshen the documentation

10 years agoMake sure code examples fit in a 80 columns terminal
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 00:08:08 +0000 (02:08 +0200)]
Make sure code examples fit in a 80 columns terminal

10 years agoA couple of cosmetic code changes
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 00:06:55 +0000 (02:06 +0200)]
A couple of cosmetic code changes

10 years agoAlso forcefully reset the localize hint flag for use indirect
Vincent Pit [Sun, 23 Oct 2011 00:06:40 +0000 (02:06 +0200)]
Also forcefully reset the localize hint flag for use indirect

10 years agoAdd 'global' option to 'no indirect'
Vincent Pit [Sat, 22 Oct 2011 23:59:29 +0000 (01:59 +0200)]
Add 'global' option to 'no indirect'

This enables the module globally.

10 years agoStop leaking the SVs stored in the hints structure.
Vincent Pit [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 17:58:10 +0000 (19:58 +0200)]
Stop leaking the SVs stored in the hints structure.

After being clone, they only need one refcount push, which is done at the
end of indirect_clone().

10 years agoSkip the hint entry vivification test on 5.11 rt70618
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Sep 2011 15:11:52 +0000 (17:11 +0200)]
Skip the hint entry vivification test on 5.11

It fails the same way even when indirect is not loaded.

This fixes RT #70618.

10 years agoThis is 0.25 v0.25
Vincent Pit [Wed, 24 Aug 2011 15:39:33 +0000 (17:39 +0200)]
This is 0.25

10 years agoTry to prevent t/50-external.t from crashing on Cygwin
Vincent Pit [Wed, 24 Aug 2011 15:29:44 +0000 (17:29 +0200)]
Try to prevent t/50-external.t from crashing on Cygwin

10 years agoEncode the README file in UTF-8
Vincent Pit [Wed, 24 Aug 2011 12:53:11 +0000 (14:53 +0200)]
Encode the README file in UTF-8

10 years agoRemove remaining occurences of $^V
Vincent Pit [Wed, 27 Jul 2011 15:50:25 +0000 (17:50 +0200)]
Remove remaining occurences of $^V

10 years agoThe last argument to hv_fetch is the lvalue flag, not the hash rt69291
Vincent Pit [Mon, 18 Jul 2011 09:39:07 +0000 (11:39 +0200)]
The last argument to hv_fetch is the lvalue flag, not the hash

This fixes RT #69291 on perl 5.8.

10 years agoThis is 0.24 v0.24
Vincent Pit [Sun, 17 Jul 2011 23:13:23 +0000 (01:13 +0200)]
This is 0.24

10 years agoIgnore MYMETA.json
Vincent Pit [Sun, 17 Jul 2011 23:05:41 +0000 (01:05 +0200)]
Ignore MYMETA.json

10 years agoAdd META.json
Vincent Pit [Sun, 17 Jul 2011 23:03:35 +0000 (01:03 +0200)]
Add META.json

10 years agoReplace $] by "$]" in tests
Vincent Pit [Sun, 17 Jul 2011 22:48:02 +0000 (00:48 +0200)]
Replace $] by "$]" in tests

An old bug could cause $] to be initialized to a wrong decimal value.
Since its stringified value was always right, we use it instead.

10 years agoTest that indirect does not vivify entries in %^H
Vincent Pit [Sun, 17 Jul 2011 22:31:54 +0000 (00:31 +0200)]
Test that indirect does not vivify entries in %^H

10 years agoTest interaction with eval STRING
Vincent Pit [Tue, 5 Jul 2011 22:54:14 +0000 (00:54 +0200)]
Test interaction with eval STRING

10 years agoRevert "Always get the hint directly from %^H" rt64521
Vincent Pit [Tue, 5 Jul 2011 22:24:33 +0000 (00:24 +0200)]
Revert "Always get the hint directly from %^H"

We should always fetch the hint from the COPs so that we get the right
environment in eval STRING.

This fixes RT #64521 and RT #69291 in 5.10.

This reverts commit 6429fd7545e28fe43dd128c3ce6bb2ccf031e514.