perl/modules/Test-Valgrind.git
3 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to 15e8aee3 master
Vincent Pit [Sat, 4 Nov 2017 14:52:50 +0000 (15:52 +0100)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to 15e8aee3

4 years agofix a typo in the POD rt109349
gregor herrmann [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 21:54:41 +0000 (18:54 -0300)]
fix a typo in the POD

4 years agoFix a couple of POD typos
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 21:03:41 +0000 (18:03 -0300)]
Fix a couple of POD typos

4 years agoThis is 1.19 v1.19
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 21:00:06 +0000 (18:00 -0300)]
This is 1.19

4 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to 32b27283
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 20:35:56 +0000 (17:35 -0300)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to 32b27283

4 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 20:34:44 +0000 (17:34 -0300)]
Bump copyright year

4 years agoAdd a few more version tests
Vincent Pit [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 20:21:39 +0000 (17:21 -0300)]
Add a few more version tests

4 years agoMore lax valgrind version parsing
Vincent Pit [Fri, 29 Jul 2016 17:05:11 +0000 (14:05 -0300)]
More lax valgrind version parsing

If valgrind ever decides to add a full stop at the end of the output of
"valgrind --version", then the (?!\.) in the version parsing regexp will
cause unexpected backtracking which will result in an invalid version.

4 years agoMake sure suppressions don't contain more than 24 frames
Vincent Pit [Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:46:20 +0000 (13:46 -0300)]
Make sure suppressions don't contain more than 24 frames

Or valgrind will panic because 24 suppressions frames should be enough for
everyone!

4 years agoPrevent double ... at the end of a suppression
Vincent Pit [Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:43:47 +0000 (12:43 -0300)]
Prevent double ... at the end of a suppression

4 years agoOnly allow 24 callers
Vincent Pit [Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:42:46 +0000 (12:42 -0300)]
Only allow 24 callers

valgrind doesn't allow more anyway.

5 years agoThis is 1.18 v1.18
Vincent Pit [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 15:01:21 +0000 (13:01 -0200)]
This is 1.18

5 years agoReindent a few lines
Vincent Pit [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 14:28:39 +0000 (12:28 -0200)]
Reindent a few lines

Whitespace-only change.

5 years agoMake sure $version is not set when no suitable valgrind was found
Vincent Pit [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 13:50:47 +0000 (11:50 -0200)]
Make sure $version is not set when no suitable valgrind was found

This doesn't change anything but makes things clearer.

5 years agoImprove detection of executables
Vincent Pit [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 13:25:56 +0000 (11:25 -0200)]
Improve detection of executables

Also make Test::Valgrind::FakeValgrind decide if the test should be skipped
or not depending on the operating system.

5 years agoTest POD coverage for Test::Valgrind::{Util,Version}
Vincent Pit [Sun, 15 Nov 2015 21:36:40 +0000 (19:36 -0200)]
Test POD coverage for Test::Valgrind::{Util,Version}

5 years agoRepresent valgrind version numbers by their own class
Vincent Pit [Sun, 15 Nov 2015 20:04:38 +0000 (18:04 -0200)]
Represent valgrind version numbers by their own class

Instead of relying on version.pm for that.

5 years agoMake sure File::Temp is recent enough for ->newdir
Vincent Pit [Sun, 15 Nov 2015 19:03:22 +0000 (17:03 -0200)]
Make sure File::Temp is recent enough for ->newdir

Spotted by Paul Howarth.

5 years agoImprove TAP regexps in t/30-skip.t
Vincent Pit [Sun, 15 Nov 2015 18:41:46 +0000 (16:41 -0200)]
Improve TAP regexps in t/30-skip.t

Before Test::Builder 0.87_01, "Skip" was the directive for skipped test.
Moreover, the literal dots were matching anything.

Spotted by Paul Howarth.

5 years agoSilence some useless warnings from File::Temp
Vincent Pit [Sun, 15 Nov 2015 18:34:01 +0000 (16:34 -0200)]
Silence some useless warnings from File::Temp

They only appear when the tests are run with -w, which happens with old
versions of Test::Harness.

5 years agoThis is 1.17 v1.17
Vincent Pit [Fri, 13 Nov 2015 13:50:57 +0000 (11:50 -0200)]
This is 1.17

5 years agoMake sure the fake valgrind test executables are not opened when used rt108873
Vincent Pit [Fri, 13 Nov 2015 12:46:44 +0000 (10:46 -0200)]
Make sure the fake valgrind test executables are not opened when used

This fixes RT #108873.

5 years agoAlso list the VPIT::TestHelpers capture prerequisites in BUILD_REQUIRES
Vincent Pit [Fri, 13 Nov 2015 12:45:38 +0000 (10:45 -0200)]
Also list the VPIT::TestHelpers capture prerequisites in BUILD_REQUIRES

5 years agoThis is 1.16 v1.16
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 23:27:01 +0000 (21:27 -0200)]
This is 1.16

5 years agoAllow specifying 'allow_no_supp' to Test::Valgrind->import
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 22:54:55 +0000 (20:54 -0200)]
Allow specifying 'allow_no_supp' to Test::Valgrind->import

5 years agoImprove perl suppressions accuracy
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 21:58:16 +0000 (19:58 -0200)]
Improve perl suppressions accuracy

We achieve this by allowing more ellipsis frames, by reworking how the
suppressions are anchored to perl related symbols, and also by increasing
the default number of callers at analysis time to match the one used
at suppression time.

5 years agoMake sure auxillary tests don't pick up the system valgrind
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 16:46:10 +0000 (14:46 -0200)]
Make sure auxillary tests don't pick up the system valgrind

5 years agoImprove error handling before exec
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 15:11:38 +0000 (13:11 -0200)]
Improve error handling before exec

IO::Select is required.

5 years agoAllow fake valgrind test helpers to have a body
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 15:10:32 +0000 (13:10 -0200)]
Allow fake valgrind test helpers to have a body

5 years agoRemove two misleading assigments in t/80-suppressions.t
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 14:41:14 +0000 (12:41 -0200)]
Remove two misleading assigments in t/80-suppressions.t

5 years agoHandle segfaults during suppressions generation gracefully
Vincent Pit [Thu, 12 Nov 2015 12:19:02 +0000 (10:19 -0200)]
Handle segfaults during suppressions generation gracefully

5 years agoRevamp test skipping logic
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 15:46:32 +0000 (13:46 -0200)]
Revamp test skipping logic

The Test::Valgrind tests should now be skipped more reliably when no good
valgrind setup is available.

VPIT::TestHelpers is now bundled.

5 years agoFactor the fake valgrind test helper into a separate class
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 17:45:41 +0000 (15:45 -0200)]
Factor the fake valgrind test helper into a separate class

5 years agoMake sure an absolute path is used in the dummy valgrind script shebang
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 15:36:17 +0000 (13:36 -0200)]
Make sure an absolute path is used in the dummy valgrind script shebang

And skip if we can't find it.

5 years agoAlso run the session test on darwin
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 15:24:03 +0000 (13:24 -0200)]
Also run the session test on darwin

5 years agoAvoid eval STRING wherever possible
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 14:49:46 +0000 (12:49 -0200)]
Avoid eval STRING wherever possible

5 years agoDon't silence compilation errors when loading the parser class
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 13:45:35 +0000 (11:45 -0200)]
Don't silence compilation errors when loading the parser class

5 years agoMove and improve the subclass validation logic into a new helper module
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 13:43:09 +0000 (11:43 -0200)]
Move and improve the subclass validation logic into a new helper module

5 years agoMake Test::Valgrind skip if no appropriate suppressions are available rt101934
Vincent Pit [Wed, 11 Nov 2015 13:14:30 +0000 (11:14 -0200)]
Make Test::Valgrind skip if no appropriate suppressions are available

Note that this change also fix no_def_supp => 1 ignoring extra suppressions.

5 years agoMake sure t/20-bad.t does no extra checks when no valgrind was found
Vincent Pit [Sat, 31 Oct 2015 11:20:34 +0000 (09:20 -0200)]
Make sure t/20-bad.t does no extra checks when no valgrind was found

5 years agoThis is 1.15 v1.15
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 16:15:07 +0000 (14:15 -0200)]
This is 1.15

5 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:56:56 +0000 (13:56 -0200)]
Bump copyright year

5 years agoAdd 'regen_def_supp', an option to regenerate the suppressions
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:47:59 +0000 (13:47 -0200)]
Add 'regen_def_supp', an option to regenerate the suppressions

And use it in t/10-good.t so that all the tests are run with a fresh
suppression file.

5 years agoTest run time exceptions
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:33:56 +0000 (13:33 -0200)]
Test run time exceptions

5 years agoEnable the 'diag' option in tests
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:30:20 +0000 (13:30 -0200)]
Enable the 'diag' option in tests

This will make it easier to debug test failures (like if the child dies).

5 years agoAdd a prototype for tv_leak()
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:22:53 +0000 (13:22 -0200)]
Add a prototype for tv_leak()

5 years agoNo "unless else" please
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:10:33 +0000 (13:10 -0200)]
No "unless else" please

5 years agoFix the dummy XS code for PERL_IMPLICIT_SYS builds
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 15:00:34 +0000 (13:00 -0200)]
Fix the dummy XS code for PERL_IMPLICIT_SYS builds

5 years agoUpdate VPIT::TestHelpers to ba865c42
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 14:53:30 +0000 (12:53 -0200)]
Update VPIT::TestHelpers to ba865c42

Only needed for author tests, hence not bundled.

5 years agoAdd a capital to make the spelling test happy
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 14:49:24 +0000 (12:49 -0200)]
Add a capital to make the spelling test happy

No stopwords? sad.

5 years agoImprove diagnostics when t/20-bad.t fails
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 14:48:37 +0000 (12:48 -0200)]
Improve diagnostics when t/20-bad.t fails

In particular, make sure it always passes/fails the right number of tests.

5 years agoFreshen Makefile.PL
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 14:27:36 +0000 (12:27 -0200)]
Freshen Makefile.PL

This should also fix handshake-related test failures with recent perls.

5 years agoClean up tests
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 14:25:52 +0000 (12:25 -0200)]
Clean up tests

5 years agoFix comment
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2015 13:33:51 +0000 (11:33 -0200)]
Fix comment

7 years agoThis is 1.14 v1.14
Vincent Pit [Sun, 1 Sep 2013 17:10:38 +0000 (19:10 +0200)]
This is 1.14

7 years agoRemove trailing whitespace
Vincent Pit [Sun, 1 Sep 2013 17:00:03 +0000 (19:00 +0200)]
Remove trailing whitespace

7 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Sun, 1 Sep 2013 16:56:30 +0000 (18:56 +0200)]
Bump copyright year

7 years agoSilence a POD link error
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 21:21:25 +0000 (18:21 -0300)]
Silence a POD link error

7 years agoMake sure the POD headings are linkable
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 21:20:55 +0000 (18:20 -0300)]
Make sure the POD headings are linkable

7 years agoRemove obsolete kwalitee workarounds
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 16:39:22 +0000 (13:39 -0300)]
Remove obsolete kwalitee workarounds

7 years agoPut each POD sentence on its own line
Vincent Pit [Sat, 24 Aug 2013 13:40:35 +0000 (10:40 -0300)]
Put each POD sentence on its own line

7 years agoNo tabs please
Vincent Pit [Fri, 23 Aug 2013 19:35:44 +0000 (16:35 -0300)]
No tabs please

7 years agoQuote version numbers in Makefile.PL
Vincent Pit [Thu, 22 Aug 2013 20:44:15 +0000 (17:44 -0300)]
Quote version numbers in Makefile.PL

7 years agoStop bundling author tests
Vincent Pit [Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:16:21 +0000 (18:16 -0300)]
Stop bundling author tests

7 years agoUpdate author tests
Vincent Pit [Wed, 7 Aug 2013 16:54:22 +0000 (13:54 -0300)]
Update author tests

7 years agoSort MANIFEST
Vincent Pit [Wed, 7 Aug 2013 16:52:43 +0000 (13:52 -0300)]
Sort MANIFEST

7 years agoUpdate the bug tracker URL in META after the rt.perl.org upgrade
Vincent Pit [Wed, 7 Aug 2013 14:37:23 +0000 (11:37 -0300)]
Update the bug tracker URL in META after the rt.perl.org upgrade

7 years agoGet rid of t/99-kwalitee.t rt88074
Vincent Pit [Tue, 6 Aug 2013 03:22:17 +0000 (00:22 -0300)]
Get rid of t/99-kwalitee.t

New versions started to throw warnings if specific environment variables
are not set. This may be appropriate for dist manager users, but not really
for the rest of the world.

Since kwalitee metrics are either obvious or useless, there's no big loss
in removing this test anyway.

9 years agoRequire Module::ExtractUse 0.24 for the Kwalitee test
Vincent Pit [Sun, 19 Feb 2012 13:09:03 +0000 (14:09 +0100)]
Require Module::ExtractUse 0.24 for the Kwalitee test

9 years agoMake the stack trace test of t/20-bad.t more predictable
Vincent Pit [Thu, 8 Sep 2011 10:17:28 +0000 (12:17 +0200)]
Make the stack trace test of t/20-bad.t more predictable

Since recently, the XSUBs can be declared static, so they may not appear in
the stack trace when optimizations are on. Work around this by leaking the
test memory from a function that can't be inlined.

9 years agoThis is 1.13 v1.13
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:42:18 +0000 (17:42 +0200)]
This is 1.13

9 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:33:32 +0000 (17:33 +0200)]
Bump copyright year

9 years agoSwitch to qw<>
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:19:14 +0000 (17:19 +0200)]
Switch to qw<>

9 years agoAdd META.json
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:11:16 +0000 (17:11 +0200)]
Add META.json

9 years agoEncode the README file in UTF-8
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:09:01 +0000 (17:09 +0200)]
Encode the README file in UTF-8

9 years agoIgnore MYMETA.{json,yml}
Vincent Pit [Thu, 25 Aug 2011 15:08:31 +0000 (17:08 +0200)]
Ignore MYMETA.{json,yml}

10 years agoBump copyright year
Vincent Pit [Thu, 15 Apr 2010 06:33:02 +0000 (08:33 +0200)]
Bump copyright year

10 years agoFix the session not calling ->finish at the right time
Vincent Pit [Thu, 15 Apr 2010 06:30:39 +0000 (08:30 +0200)]
Fix the session not calling ->finish at the right time

11 years agoAdd missing t/81-suppressions-demangle.t to MANIFEST
Vincent Pit [Sun, 29 Nov 2009 22:02:14 +0000 (23:02 +0100)]
Add missing t/81-suppressions-demangle.t to MANIFEST

11 years agoThis is 1.12 v1.12
Vincent Pit [Sun, 29 Nov 2009 16:40:03 +0000 (17:40 +0100)]
This is 1.12

11 years agoThanks, David. Thanks, Debian people
Vincent Pit [Sun, 29 Nov 2009 16:37:06 +0000 (17:37 +0100)]
Thanks, David. Thanks, Debian people

11 years agoZ-demangle symbol names in suppressions
Vincent Pit [Thu, 5 Nov 2009 18:13:43 +0000 (19:13 +0100)]
Z-demangle symbol names in suppressions

11 years agoThere's no need to strip out lines containing "valgrind" from suppressions anymore
Vincent Pit [Wed, 4 Nov 2009 12:59:35 +0000 (13:59 +0100)]
There's no need to strip out lines containing "valgrind" from suppressions anymore

11 years agoMake Suppressions->strip_tail remove multiple ellipsis
Vincent Pit [Tue, 3 Nov 2009 20:58:33 +0000 (21:58 +0100)]
Make Suppressions->strip_tail remove multiple ellipsis

11 years agoAlso strip the (new) tail after cutting the suppression at Perl_runops
Vincent Pit [Tue, 3 Nov 2009 13:26:08 +0000 (14:26 +0100)]
Also strip the (new) tail after cutting the suppression at Perl_runops

11 years agoAlways strip wildcard frames at the end of a suppression
Vincent Pit [Tue, 3 Nov 2009 13:17:31 +0000 (14:17 +0100)]
Always strip wildcard frames at the end of a suppression

Thanks to a new Test::Valgrind::Suppressions->strip_tail helper.

11 years agoAdd an INSTALL.SKIP file
Vincent Pit [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 09:54:17 +0000 (10:54 +0100)]
Add an INSTALL.SKIP file

So that we don't install the XS shared object if it's built.

11 years agoConsistently enforce a destruction level of 3
Vincent Pit [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 09:41:40 +0000 (10:41 +0100)]
Consistently enforce a destruction level of 3

11 years agoReport which suppressions are used by the session
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2009 17:29:05 +0000 (18:29 +0100)]
Report which suppressions are used by the session

11 years agoFix non-portable hex numbers
Vincent Pit [Fri, 30 Oct 2009 10:26:13 +0000 (11:26 +0100)]
Fix non-portable hex numbers

11 years agoThe report_class is given by the tool, not by the action
Vincent Pit [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 12:20:56 +0000 (13:20 +0100)]
The report_class is given by the tool, not by the action

11 years agoImprove Test::Valgrind front documentation
Vincent Pit [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 11:21:45 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
Improve Test::Valgrind front documentation

11 years agoThis is 1.11 v1.11
Vincent Pit [Thu, 8 Oct 2009 20:52:12 +0000 (22:52 +0200)]
This is 1.11

11 years agoRe-indent WriteMakefile() arguments
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 09:18:03 +0000 (11:18 +0200)]
Re-indent WriteMakefile() arguments

11 years agoMakefile.bak doesn't exist anymore
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 08:39:09 +0000 (10:39 +0200)]
Makefile.bak doesn't exist anymore

11 years agoBuild the $name and the main $file from $dist
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 08:37:51 +0000 (10:37 +0200)]
Build the $name and the main $file from $dist

11 years agoMove $dist before %PREREQ_PM
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 07:48:40 +0000 (09:48 +0200)]
Move $dist before %PREREQ_PM

11 years agoGive an explicit value to dynamic_config
Vincent Pit [Sun, 4 Oct 2009 07:28:22 +0000 (09:28 +0200)]
Give an explicit value to dynamic_config

11 years agoMiscellanous doc nits
Vincent Pit [Sat, 26 Sep 2009 20:11:54 +0000 (22:11 +0200)]
Miscellanous doc nits

11 years agoDocument Parser->new
Vincent Pit [Sat, 26 Sep 2009 20:00:32 +0000 (22:00 +0200)]
Document Parser->new